Vista OOBE Sucks!

As an old marketing practitioner, OOBE is an acronym for Out Of Box Experience

Forget that Microsoft has hijacked the term to mean their start up programming that bores you to tears while describing all the new bells and whistles and telling you how great they are and how much you will love them. To me OOBE includes all those factory preset conditions that make your computer act the way it does. I Know that there has been much written about how to turn off or correct many of the nasty conditions I’ll describe but that’s not the point. The average user does not know how to change the registry or turn off processes and shouldn’t have to learn.

All my complaints deal with the fact that this operating system is a total mismatch for current equipment. The worst manifestation is that it is slow, slow, so very slow. When I wake up and go to my hibernating machine I don’t know what to expect when I tap the enter key. It might spring to life in a minute it might take five minutes, only the Vista Gods may have a clue. I have programmed my human self to tap a key to wake it up before I start my morning tea and go to the bathroom, then my trusty Vista machine will probably wake up before I’m finished my morning ritual.

Now when my XP machine takes more than 2-7 seconds to come to life the first thing I do is run “netstat -ano” to see who’s connected to my machine and what they are doing. Running “netstat -bv” identifies the processes and the executables involved in each process by the connection name (This doesn’t work as well in Vista).

When I try to quickly run the netstat command on Vista DOS, Vista plays a silly game of Simon Says where it asks me if I am truly the person who clicked to open DOS and it will not open it until I click yes. I mean I am operating as administrator with administrative privileges, what’s above that? When you get to your answer for your request, you have no way of knowing how many connections were made and broken while you were playing Simon Says or waiting for your machine to come out of hibernation.

My next task is to identify the processes which the IP’s are connected to and when I run Task Manager, it plays that silly game of Simon Says again invoking my administrative privilege to proceed and then the first answer is not complete. You have to click on a box that asks if you want to see the processes for all users. I mean, I’m supposed to be the administrator with full administrative privileges and there are no other users on the machine yet more processes are identified as being operated by “system”.

By the time you get full administrative privileges there is no way to get full knowledge. All this crap slows you down so much it is impossible to know what wasn’t captured.

There are ways to work around this unnecessary crap but then why should I have to?

One Response to “Vista OOBE Sucks!”

  1. Vista - Beyond Netstat! « Tickling the Tiger’s Tail Says:

    […] connection only lasts for less than a minute. By the time I check the task manage and get through “Simon Says” and “processes from all users“, it’s too late to find out who is doing what to me and I have yet to discover a […]

Leave a Reply

