Vista Tasklist – Cool Tool!

Alright, I finally found something decent about Vista but it actually is in Vista DOS which evolved from NT DOS and XP Pro DOS. It’s a tool called Tasklist and it’s used to get a listing of all processes by PID and which services are running in these Processes. By using various switches, you can find out what modules and executables are associated with a PID and learn about them. Knowledge leads to defense or minimally it will allow you to identify and disable your intruder.

My very First Tasklist command was:

C:\>Tasklist /svc

In my last post I found that Level 3 was connected to two unknown processes, 2060 and 988. Now I’m still not proficient with this command, but the output shows I have reason to be concerned.

Image Name PID Services
========================= ======== ============================================
svchost.exe 988 AeLookupSvc, Appinfo, BITS, Browser, gpsvc,
IKEEXT, iphlpsvc, LanmanServer, MMCSS,
ProfSvc, RasMan, Schedule, seclogon, SENS,
ShellHWDetection, Themes, Winmgmt, wuauserv
winss.exe 2060 winss

By searching for winss on Google you find that this is part of Windows One Care but has been related to malware problems and that svchost.exe is a generic host for Windows Modules that has also been suspect in malware. Still, you cannot dismantle them without hurting your operating system so you have to find the service or even specific module that is connecting to the net without your permission.

The next command I tried was

C:\>tasklist /m >> module.txt

It’s necessary to send this to a text file because the output is bigger than the DOS screen allows. The output gives you all the modules for each PID which is informitive but not necessarily useful. What would be ideal is if the IP were related to the PID which connected to a service and then connected to the modules within that service. This is what netstat -bv did and it allowed me to isolate and eliminate problems like with ccproxy.exe.

I’m sure that Tasklist is the solution, but it will take me awhile to figure it out unless somebody gives me the answer. I suspect whatever this intruder was standard malware and not Military Strength Malware. I ran all my malware eliminators and when I awoke I only had Google Talk knocking on my door.

Leave a Reply

